offers hundreds of practice questions and video explanations. Go there now.
Sign up or log in to Magoosh TOEFL Prep.

TOEFL Test Dates & Guide to Picking a TOEFL Exam Date

So you need to take the TOEFL. But when should you take it? This depends a lot on which TOEFL test dates are available, of course. And it also depends on your own study needs and prep timeline. Below, we’ll give you a list of TOEFL exam dates for 2016-2017. And we’ll give you some advice on how to choose the TOEFL exam date that’s right for you. Click on a TOEFL test date topic from the navigation table below to skip to that section, or continue scrolling down to review all our TOEFL exam dates information.
 
Available TOEFL Exam Dates
Which TOEFL Test Date to Pick: A Practical Guide
TOEFL Availability in Your City or Region
TOEFL PBT Availability vs. TOEFL iBT Availability
When You Should Take the TOEFL

Available TOEFL Exam Dates: 2017

Are you planning to take the TOEFL in 2017? Great! You’re in the right place to find all the TOEFL test dates for this year! Here’s what you need to know.

TOEFL Test Dates in 2017

You can find a full list of exam dates in this PDF by ETS, as well as the approximate score posting date. The dates are listed in this table as well:

TOEFL Test DateApplication DeadlineScores Posted Online
(estimated date)
Score Report Generated
(estimated date)
Saturday, January 7, 2017Dec. 31, 2016Jan. 8, 2017Jan. 21, 2017
Saturday, January 14, 2017 Jan. 7, 2017Jan. 25, 2017Jan. 28, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017Jan. 13, 2017Jan. 30, 2017Feb. 2, 2017
Sunday, January 22, 2017 Jan. 15, 2017Feb. 1, 2017Feb. 4, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017 Jan. 27, 2017Feb. 13, 2017Feb. 16, 2017
Saturday, February 4, 2017 Jan. 28, 2017Feb. 14, 2017Feb. 17, 2017
Saturday, February 11, 2017 Feb. 4, 2017Feb. 22, 2017Feb. 25, 2017
Saturday, February 18, 2017Feb. 11, 2017Mar. 1, 2017Mar. 4, 2017
Saturday, February 25, 2017 Feb. 18, 2017Mar. 7, 2017Mar. 10, 2017
Sunday, February 26, 2017Feb. 19, 2017Mar. 8, 2017Mar. 11, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017 Feb. 24, 2017Mar. 13, 2017Mar. 16 2017
Saturday, March 4, 2017Feb. 25, 2017Mar. 14, 2017Mar. 17, 2017
Saturday, March 11, 2017 Mar. 4, 2017Mar. 21, 2017Mar. 24, 2017
Saturday, March 25, 2017Mar. 18, 2017Apr. 4, 2017Apr. 7, 2017
Saturday, April 1, 2017Mar. 25, 2017Apr. 11, 2017Apr. 14, 2017
Saturday, April 15, 2017 Apr. 8, 2017Apr. 25, 2017Apr. 28, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017Apr. 14, 2017May 1, 2017May 4, 2017
Sunday, April 23, 2017Apr. 16, 2017May 3, 2017Mar 6, 2017
Saturday, April 29, 2017 Apr. 22, 2017May 9, 2017May 12, 2017
Saturday, May 6, 2017Apr. 29, 2017May 16, 2017May 19, 2017
Saturday, May 13, 2017 May 6, 2017May 23, 2017May 26, 2017
Saturday, May 20, 2017 May 13, 2017May 31, 2017Jun. 3, 2017
Saturday, May 27, 2017May 20, 2017Jun. 7, 2017Jun. 10, 2017
Saturday, June 3, 2017May 27, 2017Jun. 13, 2017Jun. 16, 2017
Friday, June 9, 2017 Jun. 2, 2017Jun. 19, 2017Jun. 22, 2017
Saturday, June 10, 2017Jun. 3, 2017Jun. 20, 2017Jun. 23 2017
Saturday, June 24, 2017 Jun. 17, 2017Jul. 5, 2017Jul. 8, 2017
Sunday, June 25, 2017Jun. 18, 2017Jul. 6, 2017Jul. 9, 2017
Saturday, July 1, 2017Jun. 24, 2017Jul. 12, 2017Jul. 15, 2017
Sunday, July 2, 2017Jun. 25, 2017Jul. 13, 2017Jul. 16, 2017
Saturday, July 8, 2017 Jul. 1, 2017Jul. 18, 2017Jul. 21, 2017
Saturday, July 15, 2017Jul. 8, 2017Jul. 25, 2017Jul. 28, 2017
Saturday, July 22, 2017 Jul. 15, 2017Aug. 1, 2017Aug. 4, 2017
Saturday, July 29, 2017Jul. 22, 2017Aug. 8, 2017Aug. 11, 2017
Saturday, August 5, 2017 Jul. 29, 2017Aug. 15, 2017Aug. 18, 2017
Saturday, August 12, 2017Aug. 5, 2017Aug. 22, 2017Aug. 25, 2017
Saturday, August 26, 2017 Aug. 19, 2017Sep. 6, 2017Sep. 9, 2017
Sunday, August 27, 2017 Aug. 20, 2017Sep. 7, 2017Sep. 10, 2017
Saturday, September 9, 2017Sep. 2, 2017Sep. 19, 2017Sep. 22, 2017
Saturday, September 16, 2017Sep. 9, 2017Sep. 26, 2017Sep. 29, 2017
Sunday, September 17, 2017Sep. 10, 2017Sep. 27, 2017Sep. 30, 2017
Friday, September 22, 2017Sep. 15, 2017Oct. 2, 2017Oct. 5, 2017
Saturday, September 23, 2017 Sep. 16, 2017Oct. 3, 2017Oct. 6, 2017
Sunday, September 24, 2017 Sep. 17, 2017Oct. 4, 2017Oct. 7, 2017
Friday, September 29, 2017 Sep. 22, 2017Oct. 9, 2017Oct. 12, 2017
Saturday, September 30, 2017Sep. 23, 2017Oct. 10, 2017Oct. 13, 2017
Friday, October 13, 2017 Oct. 6, 2017Oct. 23, 2017Oct. 26, 2017
Saturday, October 14, 2017Oct. 7, 2017Oct. 24, 2017Oct. 27, 2017
Sunday, October 15, 2017Oct. 8, 2017Oct. 25, 2017Oct. 28, 2017
Saturday, October 21, 2017 Oct. 14, 2017Oct. 31, 2017Nov. 3, 2017
Saturday, October 28, 2017Oct. 21, 2017Nov. 7, 2017Nov. 10, 2017
Sunday, October 29, 2017 Oct. 22, 2017Nov. 8, 2017Nov. 11, 2017
Friday, November 3, 2017Oct. 27, 2017Nov. 13, 2017Nov. 16, 2017
Saturday, November 4, 2017Oct. 28, 2017Nov. 14, 2017Nov. 17, 2017
Saturday, November 11, 2017Nov. 4, 2017Nov. 21, 2017Nov. 18, 2017
Sunday, November 12, 2017 Nov. 5, 2017Nov. 27, 2017Nov. 30, 2017
Friday, November 17, 2017 Nov. 10, 2017Nov. 29, 2017Dec. 2, 2017
Saturday, November 18, 2017Nov. 11, 2017Nov. 30, 2017Dec. 3, 2017
Saturday, November 25, 2017 Nov. 18, 2017Dec. 6, 2017Dec. 9, 2017
Sunday, November 26, 2017 Nov. 19, 2017Dec. 7, 2017Dec. 10, 2017
Saturday, December 2, 2017 Nov. 25, 2017Dec. 12, 2017Dec. 15, 2017
Friday, December 8, 2017 Dec. 1, 2017Dec. 18, 2017Dec. 21, 2017
Saturday, December 9, 2017Dec. 2, 2017Dec. 19, 2017Dec. 22, 2017
Sunday, December 10, 2017 Dec. 3, 2017Dec. 20, 2017Dec. 27, 2017
Saturday, December 16, 2017Dec. 9, 2017Jan. 2, 2017Jan. 5, 2017
Sunday, December 17, 2017Dec. 10, 2017Jan. 3, 2017Jan. 6, 2017

Not all exam dates are offered in every location

Above is a list of all of the exam dates ETS offers for the TOEFL over the course of 2017. However, not all of these dates are offered in each location. To find which dates are offered near you, you can look up test dates at specific locations here. Or, you can log into your TOEFL iBT account!

Once you’ve decided when to take the test and have signed up for it, you should check out our online TOEFL preparation course!


 

Which TOEFL Test Date to Pick: A Practical Guide


 

TOEFL Availability in Your City or Region

As you think about the exam date you’ll choose, the first thing you should consider is the exam’s availability. As I mentioned above, not all exam dates are available in a given location. Check to see not just when a TOEFL exam might be available, but also where the TOEFL is available.

It’s possible that the nearest test center on a given exam date is an hour or two away from you by travel… or possibly even further away. At the same time, other exam dates might be offered nearer to you. On the right dates, the TOEFL may be available in your home community, or nearby. Be sure to check on both location and test dates. Again, you can find this information on the official TOEFL registration website, or by logging into your ETS TOEFL account.

 

TOEFL PBT Availability vs. TOEFL iBT Availability

Although ETS says they plan to stop offering the TOEFL Paper-Based-Test (PBT) at some point in the future, the PBT is still a very common test format in many parts of the world. You may live in a place that offers TOEFL PBT only, or you may have a choice between TOEFL PBT or TOEFL iBT. If you are in either one of those situations, you should be aware that PBT and iBT have different availability.

Since the TOEFL iBT is taken on a computer, it’s easy for ETS to administer the test. That means the days when you can take the TOEFL iBT are much more frequent than the possible dates to take the PBT (that’s the paper-based test).
toefl test dates
In fact, the TOEFL test dates in many countries are so frequent that you can take the test any week of the year. To see the days when you can take the test, check the official list of test centers and dates. The “clickable” days on that list only go three months into the future, though–if you are planning for more than three months from now, you won’t be able to book specific test dates.

That is, unless you’re taking the PBT. Not all countries still administer the PBT, but if you are in one of those countries, there will only be 3-4 test dates in the next 6 months. Those are also listed on the official site.

 

When You Should Take the TOEFL

If you’re planning on beginning grad school within a year, you will want to choose a date to take the TOEFL relatively soon. Many U.S. college and graduate school programs require applications a long time before the start of the the semester–sometimes as many as 10 months ahead of time, and you’ll want to make sure you leave enough time to send your scores as well. But, this depends on what programs you are going to apply to. Check the websites of the schools you’re interested in, and possibly email the admissions office if you’re not sure when applications are due.

When you should take the test ultimately depends on how soon those deadlines are. But you should also consider how long it will take you to fully prepare for the TOEFL. Generally speaking, if you’re going to have to take the test, it should be at least a couple of months from when you start studying. You want time to prepare fully and take a few TOEFL sample tests. So the later scheduled days on the list of test dates should be appropriate for most people who read this blog. But that assumes your application deadlines are also months into the future, at least.

Let’s imagine two scenarios to illustrate good timing:

Scenario 1 – Applying to Schools Eventually

You are applying to a graduate school program or college eventually, maybe next year. This is a good opportunity to check your ability now. Study for the TOEFL for one or two months, practicing the format and strategies as much as possible. Then take the test. This might be many, many months before your applications are due, but that’s okay. This is because TOEFL scores rely on two things: general academic English ability and test familiarity/strategy. General English ability takes a long time to improve. Strategy can be learned more quickly. So you want to improve your strategy as much as possible and take the test relatively soon. This way, you can see whether your goals are realistic.

If your score is lower than you expected, you can adjust your plan. You will have to improve your general English ability, and that takes time. If your score is at the level you want, then that’s great. You can spend your time in the next months improving your application in other ways, such as preparing for the GRE, GMAT, or ACT.
TOEFL exam dates
Scenario 2 – Applying to Schools Soon

The application deadline for your program is within months. If this is the case, then you want to check out those TOEFL test dates now, and schedule the test for a time near the deadline. Give yourself as much study time as possible. It often takes month to really learn how to take the TOEFL well and get the highest score you can. And more than a month is ideal. So set aside the maximum available prep time, within your due date.

It’s not easy to make a plan like this. The main things to consider when scheduling are these:

  • Give yourself enough time to study for the test, then take it as soon as you feel comfortable with the format and content.
  • If your scores are too low in practice, but you’re familiar with the format, then you need to work on content familiarity. This means you need to improve your general academic English ability. This will take more time. How much time? That depends on your level of English now and your goal score.
  • The TOEFL is not cheap. Ideally, you want to take it just once. If you need to retake, be sure that you give yourself enough time to improve your scores before you take the test again. The second test should be the last test, ideally.

Good luck!

If you’re just starting to have a go at studying for the TOEFL, check out these posts I’ve written up about the exam:

TOEFL Reading Practice
TOEFL Listening Practice
TOEFL Speaking Topics
TOEFL Writing Topics
 
This post was updated on 3/16/17 with help and information from David Recine.