offers hundreds of practice questions and video explanations. Go there now.

Sign up or log in to Magoosh Praxis Prep.

How Many Praxis II Tests are There?

The Praxis II exams, (AKA the Praxis Subject tests), are required for certification in specific pedagogy areas. But how many Praxis II tests are there? And just how many content areas are covered by the Praxis Subject tests?

The short answer to this question is “a lot.” In the Praxis PLT alone (the most commonly required Praxis II series), there are four separate tests. The different PLT tests focus on teaching techniques for different age groups. Of course, there’s a lot more to the Praxis Subject test lineup than just the PLT. There are many other exams with many different focuses.

How many Praxis II tests are there total?

I’m reluctant to give you an exact number here, because the truth is that the available Praxis Subject Assessments change frequently. The lineup of Praxis II exams is so big because ETS regularly customizes their selection of Praxis Subject tests to meet the changing needs of K-12 education in the United States. ETS even creates some Praxis II exams just for individual states, so not every Praxis exam will be accessible (or necessary) in your state.

But if you really do want the exact number, I can tell you that currently there are 98 different Praxis Subject Assessment tests. This number can and will change, though.

In fact, by the time you read this, it’s possible that the number of Praxis II tests will be have fluctuated a little. This is why ETS itself is non-committal about their exact number of Praxis II exams. ETS’s official Praxis Subject Assessments Overview states that there are “over 90 different tests.”

How many Praxis Subject tests are there for each subject area?

This depends on the subject area. As I mentioned above, the subject area of general pedagogy, as covered in the PLT, includes four Praxis subject tests. Some subject areas have more– there are nine different versions of the Praxis II for elementary education, to give one example. Other subject areas may have two or three Praxis Subject assessments, or as few as just one.

How many Praxis Subject Assessments are there for each teaching license?

This varies depending on the subject area of the teaching license. It’s also different for every state, and can change from year to year. (Again, this is why ETS creates and offers so many Praxis IIs.) Most commonly however, your state will only make you take one or perhaps two Praxis II exams. (I myself had to take a Praxis II for language arts content knowledge and language arts pedagogy in order to get my Louisiana teaching license.)

If you state does make to take a third Praxis II exam, it will usually be an age-appropriate PLT exam. In a later post, we’ll look at how your state of licensure and your chosen teaching area determine which Praxis II tests you should take. In meanwhile, you can see a complete list of the Praxis Subject Assessment exams on the official Praxis page for test and service fees.

By the way, sign up for our 1 Week Free Trial to try out Magoosh Praxis Prep!

2 Responses to How Many Praxis II Tests are There?

  1. Anne July 31, 2019 at 7:53 PM #

    I took the Praxis 5018 and got 155. Passing score for my state is 157. I hope to have better luck next time. How many versions of Praxis 5018 are there? I am worried of missing again.

    • Magoosh Test Prep Expert
      Magoosh Test Prep Expert August 22, 2019 at 6:10 PM #

      Hi Anne,

      I’m sorry to hear that you just missed your passing score! I’m not sure if I understand your question…the structure and concepts for the Praxis 5018 will be the same no matter when you take the test, but of course the questions will be different. Each Praxis test is distinguished by it’s unique number, but there are a LOT of unique numbers 🙂

Magoosh blog comment policy: To create the best experience for our readers, we will only approve comments that are relevant to the article, general enough to be helpful to other students, concise, and well-written! 😄 Due to the high volume of comments across all of our blogs, we cannot promise that all comments will receive responses from our instructors.

We highly encourage students to help each other out and respond to other students' comments if you can!

If you are a Premium Magoosh student and would like more personalized service from our instructors, you can use the Help tab on the Magoosh dashboard. Thanks!

Leave a Reply